City Council

The 1981 City Charter established the City of Hillsboro as a home-rule city with a council-manager form of government. The Hillsboro City Council is empowered to enact local legislation, adopt budgets, determine policies, and appoint the City Manager, who in turn shall be responsible to the City Council for the execution of the laws and the administration of the government of the city. All power of the City shall be exercised in the manner prescribed by the City Charter, City Ordinance, the State Constitution, or by Laws of the State.

The Hillsboro City Council is composed of the Mayor and six (6) members of the Council. The Mayor and Council Members serve two (2) year terms. Council seats 2, 4, and 6 are up for election in even-numbered years and the Mayor and Council seats 1, 3, and 5 are up for election in odd-numbered years.

The Mayor serves as the presiding officer of the Council. Although the Mayor is considered as part of the composition of the Council, the Mayor shall only vote in the event of a tie by the Council. When authorized by the Council, the Mayor shall sign all official documents such as ordinances, resolutions, conveyances, grant agreements, official plats, contracts, and bonds.

The Mayor Pro-Tem is a member of the Hillsboro City Council elected by the Council at its first regular meeting following a general election. The Mayor Pro-Tem shall act as the Mayor during the disability or absence of the Mayor.

The City Charter establishes that the Mayor shall be compensated at the rate of One Hundred Dollars ($100) per month, and City Council Members at a rate of Five Dollars ($5) for each regular and special meeting of the Council that they attend.

For previous agendas approved by the City Council, please contact the City Secretary’s Office for additional questions.

214 E Elm St.
P.O. Box 568
Hillsboro, TX 76645
Office (254) 582-3271
Fax (254) 582-0112

City of Hillsboro Mayor

M. Scott Johnson

City Council Members

Place 1- Eric Fleming
Place 2- Larry Lloyd
Place 3- Dana Robinson
Place 4- Frances Zarate
Place 5, Mayor Pro-Tem- Leann Richmond
Place 6-Clement (Jay) Jolly