Administration Department

The City of Hillsboro is a home rule City which operates under a Council-Manager form of government.  All powers of the City shall be vested in the elective Council which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies and employs the City Manager.  The City Council consists of a Mayor and six council members with the appointment of a Mayor Pro Tem.  The City Manager shall execute the laws and administer the government of the City.

The City government provides a broad range of goods and services to its citizens.  The activities and personnel required to provide these goods and services are organized into broad managerial areas called Funds.  Funds are separate fiscal and accounting entities with their own resources and budgets necessary to carry on specific activities and attain certain objectives.

Funds are further organized into functional groups called Departments.  A Department is a group of related activities aimed at accomplishing a major City service or program (e.g. Police Department).  A Department may be divided into smaller areas called Divisions.  Divisions perform specific functions within the Department (e.g. Animal Control is a Division of the Police Department).

At the head of each Department is a Director who is an officer of the City.  Directors have supervision and control of a Department and the Division within it, but are subject to supervision and control of the City Manager.  A Department head may supervise more than one Department.